Contact


The National Center for Science and Civic Engagement's central office is located in downtown Washington, DC. The Center’s work is advised and carried out by a core group of senior scholars and project staff. Together they bring experience in the fields of biochemistry, public health, history, political science, economics, medicine, and international politics.

NCSCE Staff

Senior Fellows, Scholars, Advisors, and Consultants

Where We Are


NCSCE's offices are located at:
2000 P St NW
Suite 308
Washington, DC 20036

Phone (202) 483-4600
Fax (202) 483-1800

Contact Us

NCSCE Staff


Eliza Jane Reilly, Executive Director
eliza.reilly@ncsce.net

Danielle Kraus Tarka, Deputy Executive Director - Operations, Community Outreach, and Engagement
danielle.kraus@ncsce.net

Wm. David Burns, Executive Director Emeritus
david.burns@sencer.net

Kyle Simmons, Faculty Development Events Manager
kyle.simmons@ncsce.net

Senior Scholars, Fellows, Advisors, and Consultants


William E. Bennett, Senior Scholar
wbennettss@verizon.net

Stephen Carroll, Senior Research Fellow, Santa Clara University
scarroll@scu.edu

Richard Duschl, Senior Fellow, The Pennsylvania State University
rad19@psu.edu

David Ferguson, Senior Fellow, Stony Brook University
dferguson@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

Matthew Fisher, Senior Fellow, Saint Vincent College
matt.fisher@email.stvincent.edu

Chuck Gahun, Project Consultant
chuck.gahun@ncsce.net

Renée Hanson, Senior Scholar
renee.ncsce@gmail.com

Jeannette Haviland-Jones, Senior Fellow, Rutgers University
baljones@rci.rutgers.edu

Edward Katz, Senior Fellow, The University of North Carolina at Asheville
ekatz@unca.edu

Stephanie Knight, Director of Evaluation and Assessment, The Pennsylvania State University
slk44@psu.edu

Ellen F. Mappen, SENCER-ISE Project Director
ellen.mappen@ncsce.net

Terry McGuire, Senior Fellow, Rutgers University
mcguire@biology.rutgers.edu

Claire McInerney, Senior Research Fellow, Rutgers University
clairemc@scils.rutgers.edu

Glenn Odenbrett, Senior Scholar for STEM and Environmental Service-Learning
glenn.odenbrett@ncsce.net

Amy Shachter, Senior Fellow, Santa Clara University
ashachter@scu.edu

David Temple, Senior Fellow, Alexandria City Public Schools
david.temple@ncsce.net

Barbara Tewksbury, Senior Fellow, Hamilton College
btewskbu@hamilton.edu

Advisory Board 


The Advisory Board for the National Center for Science & Civic Engagement and SENCER is composed of distinguished educators, leaders, and entrepreneurs. Members of the Board contribute their experience and wisdom to assess effectiveness, plan for the future, and explore strategies for promoting sustainability of Center and SENCER initiatives.

Jeff Abernathy
President, Alma College

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin
Member, United States Senate (Wisconsin)

John D. Bransford
Emeritus Professor of Education: Learning Sciences, University of Washington College of Education

Royce Engstrom
President, University of Montana

Philip A. Glotzbach
President, Skidmore College

Ernest C. Levister, Jr., M.D.
Qualified and Independent Medical Examiner for the State of California

Cecilia L. Lopez
Emeritus Associate Vice Chancellor for Arts and Sciences, City Colleges of Chicago